NovelMenu







Tuesday, October 8, 2013

If you enjoy hard science fiction... Lyon's Legacy by @ulbrichalmazan #scifi




Cover links to Amazon.com

Lyon's Legacy

Catalyst Chronicles, Book One



Written by Sandra Ulbrich Almazan

Genre: Science Fiction


Sometimes being a geneticist isn’t
enough to understand your family....


Joanna Lyon is the great-granddaughter of the legendary TwenCen musician Sean Lyon. She may have inherited her ancestor's musical talent, but her parents' bitter divorce and her Uncle Jack's attempts to remake her into another Sean have left her hostile toward her family and music. Her passion is for science, but since she has no access to the family funds, she struggles to earn enough credits for graduate school.

Then her uncle sets up a business deal with her employer to make Joanna go on a mission for him: travel via the spaceship Sagan to an alternate TwenCen universe where Sean is still alive in Chicago, 1962. Joanna must collect a DNA sample from Sean so her uncle can create a clone of him. She refuses at first, but finally agrees to go. Secretly, however, Joanna believes her uncle will exploit the clone, and she plans to sabotage the project to stop him.

But when she falls in love with one of the scientists in the Sagan's genetics lab, clashes with other time travelers who fear she'll change how history develops on the alternative TwenCen Earth, and receives devastating personal news, Joanna will find herself pushed to her limit even before she comes face-to-face with her hated ancestor. Their encounter will leave her changed forever.

Will she still be able to thwart her uncle's plan, and what will she have to sacrifice to do so?

Praise for

Lyon's Legacy


Lyon's Legacy is a fun, fast-paced ride through a scientifically and socially advanced alternate universe and the 1960's Earth of our own. The narration never lags, the background details give an immediate sense of place, and the words and actions of each character reveal them to be every bit as loyal, confused, selfish, funny, and loving as we are - in short, human. I recommend this book to anyone who's ever wanted to take a trip somewhere far away and find out who they are on the way.



Lyon's Legacy is a must-read for anyone who wants a brisk but compelling story that manages to center a family story amidst the wonder of science.



What I enjoyed about the characters was that they weren't all buddy-buddy as a team. Although every character in this novel is likeable and well written, I fell in love with Joanna. The story is compelling and Sandra Ulbrich Almazan displays quite a talent for pacing and flow. This was an interesting book to read. I can see myself reading the next one.

I appreciated the creative story told. I will buy more of her books. The book was fast paced and I found it hard to put down. This book has a character for everyone, and a secret big enough to bring them all down. I always love to find new authors in the science fiction genre that are able to put their own unique spin into it.



I'm a fan of hard science fiction, and this is the genre in which this tale belongs. The author is clearly versed in many aspects of science, including quantum mechanics and genetics, and spun an interesting almost "Back to the Future"-ish kind of story.

If you enjoy hard science fiction, I encourage you to buy this book. It's a great quick read with solid emotional content and an incredibly intelligent and independent female voice.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...