NovelMenu





Thursday, July 11, 2013

If you like #historical fiction, this is a great read. GUIAMO by @ancumer #fantasy




Cover links to Amazon.com

Guiamo

The Chronicles of Guiamo Durmius Stolo


by Marshall Best





In 60 B.C., ten-year-old Guiamo Durmius Stolo, an exceptionally gifted Roman orphan, is abandoned in Gaul . Left to fend for himself, Guiamo is set onto a path of legend. Recognized by the gods as having world-changing talents, he is given a weapon that changes his destiny and the world’s forever.

Combining legitimate legends with actual historical events, Marshall Best weaves an epic story that portrays the ancient world as it might have been, a world which the ancient historians recorded as fact; a time when gods ruled the earth and strange creatures dominated the land. It is the era of civilized conquerors exploring distant and primitive new lands.

Scant recordings left to us today only touch on the fringe of the fantastic and brutal reality that existed in those distant lands of the west. Into this age, young Guiamo enters the world stage as the great game-changer, and by his hand the gods and beasts become destined to disappear into myth and legend.

Praise for Guiamo


If you like historical fiction, this is a great read. It was hard to put down and I was up late a few nights reading this. I am definitely going to check out the rest of the books in the series.



I loved how the story follows Guiamo and how he interacts in Roman society. Interwoven into the story are historical characters and facts that are truly fascinating. The story is easy to read and captivating too. I would definitely recommended it to young adult readers as well.



Guiamo by Marshall Best is an absolute must-read. All characters are superbly described while the dialogue is easy to follow from the first page to the last, younger readers will be able to connect very well with the story. I found that historical accounts of Julius Ceasar added to the story therefore making it more complete. The Roman-Latin words used were just fabulous making me feel like I was right there in the tablinum while the meeting was going on. It was amazing to read how Guiamo was able to prosper so quickly even during all the historical turmoil going on back then. This story leaves nothing behind as it is well written and so fun to read. Let me add that some readers (like me) will find it entertaining as well as informative because Marshall Best has also included a glossary. Read it and you be the judge!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...